You were injured in a car accident in Colorado, where another driver is at fault. You have two options – Either you can file an insurance claim with your own insurance company, or can file a claim with the insurance company of the driver at fault. If the insurance company of the at-fault driver denies your claim, you can eventually file a personal injury lawsuit. For any of these steps, you should consider consulting a Colorado Springs car accident lawyer, who can guide through the process. In this post, we are sharing more on the car accident laws in Colorado.
As per the state laws, all drivers are required to carry bodily injury liability coverage of $25,000 at the least for each person, besides a coverage of $50,000 per accident. In addition to that, all drivers are required to carry a minimum property damage liability coverage of $15,000. Also, Colorado has a “at-fault” system, which means that the insurance company of the party at fault and the party responsible for the accident are required to pay the compensation to the victim. This also means that if a driver has part role in the accident, they don’t get the same compensation from the other party, as they would otherwise if the accident was entirely the other driver’s fault.
When to hire a car accident lawyer?
If your injuries are not severe, you should be able to manage your medical bills and eventually get a fair compensation from the insurance company of the at-fault driver’s insurance company. However, insurance companies often adhere to diverse tactics to delay a claim, and they may deny a claim for flimsy reasons. You need a car accident lawyer by your side, because they can negotiate with the insurance company better, and eventually, if a personal injury lawsuit becomes inevitable, they will deal with everything related to it, including the paperwork. Most car accident lawsuits and claims are often settled through negotiation, there is always the scope for a trial, and your lawyer is your biggest source of unbiased advice and help for such matters.
The first meeting & consultation session with a car accident lawyer is usually for free, so you have no reason to take the stress of your claim on your own. Talk to a lawyer with experience, and they can explain the laws and your rights better. Most lawyers will only ask for a fee, if they win a settlement for you.